top of page

Chemo #3 approaching...

Hello you party people!

Blood tests due a bit later today to see if chemo no. 3 can go ahead tomorrow. Typically, I have a flippin' cough which has come on the last few days and cold is still lingering so I'm hoping it doesn't ruin my chances of cracking on with the chemo but I suppose time will tell... come on good blood results!!

This next cycle has actually come around pretty quickly! It has been quite a busy last couple of weeks and I definitely think it helps to plan and do stuff when you start to feel well after each cycle as it really breaks up the time. Here are the things I've been able to do this cycle: went to a friend's for dinner and even had a small glass of red wine (I know what you're thinking; hardcore), took Harry (the terrible two year old) to watch his bro play football, took Jack to see his friend at a kids play centre, seen pals for tea 'n' chats, done big food shop and even done school and nursery run so, dare I say it, have felt pretty 'normal' which is reassuring, I can tell you. If the rest of the cycles go like this I'll be well happy, could even see myself going back to work!

However, don't want to get too ahead of myself... I always worry when I say that I'm feeling okay as don't want the universe to think I'm getting cocky! I'm definitely not taking for granted the fact that this has been a 'good' cycle. Also, due to change to 'T' drug after next cycle and let's just say it's had mixed reviews! Two peeps said it is a lot worse, gives you bad aches and pains like having flu, random nose bleeds and bad tummy but then another two peeps said they found it better than the FEC so could go either way! We shall see, but slightly anxious about it... I've just got used to the FEC side effects!

In other news... have been thinking about reconstruction these last few days; thinking I would like it now. There is slightly conflicting advice online about when is best to have reconstruction done so I rang the hospital in the end and they said that usually they would wait until six months after the radiotherapy. I'm cool with that as in no massive rush. Will give me time to think about it some more. In a weird way, I've actually grown quite fond of my scars and part of me thinks it would be mad to open myself up again in the name of boobs, just in case something went wrong and I ended up with no boobs still and messy scarring although I gather that's unlikely. It's not just a case of one more surgical procedure though and that puts me off a bit. If you're having implants (which I would want), you gotta get the tissue expanders first, then keep having them topped up with saline, then you get the implants and then what if the implants don't take or there's an infection? Aaaaarrrghhh! Anyway, can't be thinking about that now, just need to get through the rest of this sodding chemo!

Oooooo one more thing... yesterday I found out there's this great technique for eyebrows called microblading; sort of like tattoos I think but individual hairs rather than block colour, sounds amazing!! I believe it is rather expensive though and need to look into it some more but I was thinking how great this is for people who have lost/will lose their eyebrows through chemo or where the eyebrows have thinned. Until then, there's trusty old eyebrow pencil! I use one from Avon, it's great! Eyebrows and eyelashes still present at the moment but I gather the 'T' drug will soon see to that as I believe these tend to go towards the end of the chemo treatment... just as the hair on your head starts to grow back (go figure!). Anyway, how lucky are we to have such beauty treatments available these days?! Met a fab lady the other day, breast cancer SURVIVOR, had fake eyelashes and tattooed brows; looked flippin' awesome!

Anyway gtg... TTFN x


bottom of page