top of page

Haaaaaa-lle-lujah!

Chemo no. 4 done and, wait for it... no nausea! Such a relief! I mean, sure, woke up the day after at about 1am and couldn't get back to sleep until around 3.30am, had an itchy face (around my eyes and nose) and slightly dodgy tummy already BUT I will take that over nausea all-day-long-son (as said in my best cockney accent).

Very early days still obviously, but so far, first dose of T drug... not too shabby! Not that I'm getting ahead of myself, Universe... #justsaying #pleasedonthurtme.

I was very emotional on the day of my chemo this time around; kept feeling like I wanted to cry. Think this was mainly brought on by fear of the T drug as heard some not great things but this fear seemed to bring on an overwhelming sense of fighting spirit. The closer I got to hospital, the more emotional I became.

When I arrived, I saw my friend, Sue (one of my chemo comrades aka my bosom buddy) and we had a very tearful hug. I think I was just so overjoyed to see her with my own eyes and that she was okay after having shingles. I am also pleased that we've fallen back in line with our treatment; hope it stays that way and we can ring that bell together when we're done, Susie poop!

Had more cannula capers again this time... no popped veins but took four attempts to get the cannula in; I wanted to give up and go home. That made me cry too!

Was then totally surprised to receive a wonderful gift bag and letter courtesy of my mega mate Stacey as part of a fundraising event for the Lewis Foundation through her employer, Nationwide. Hats off to them; nearly £2,000 was raised in total! Just to briefly explain; The Lewis Foundation provide gift packs to cancer patients locally and, in partnership with them, the letter I received came about through the cancer support charity, From Me to You. They are both amazing charities; please check them out if you get a chance (web addresses at the bottom of the page). The letters in particular are a really great way to make a difference. I know, even through my short stay in hospital, that a letter would have been a happy distraction when I was feeling particularly isolated. Pic of my gift pack below:

my gift pack

My other pal and comrade, Kimber came in early for her oncology appointment so she could see me which was muchly appreciated! Her positivity knows no bounds and she never fails to brighten the room (yes, even the chemo room!). One more cycle for you buddy and I will be coming in early so as I can see you ring that bell!

Speaking of bells, a lady finished her treatment whilst I was having mine. Seeing the elation on her face before she left... priceless. So happy for her. Happy for everyone who finishes their treatment and reminded that I am lucky enough to have an end in sight with my own. Simply cannot explain how overwhelming the compassion is for other patients.

In other news, had a good last week or so again before this chemo. Finally managed to go wig shopping with my fab friend and hair dresser, Paul. We went to Christos Salon in Newport Pagnell. The staff there were brilliant, made me feel very comfortable, plus they have a great wig selection! Not only did I find a wig I liked, their lovely make-up artist, Amber gave me a free makeover - brilliant! Some wiggy pics for you:

As well as wig shopping, managed to take the kids to meet some friends at a play centre on my own; I was most pleased with myself! It was quite an interesting experience... got pretty much accosted by a four year old boy, who decided that he wanted to try and take my hat off and, for some reason, touch my chest! I just smiled and said "no thank you" whilst trying to make a quick exit through the maze of mirrors. What else can you do? I was rather flustered after my third or fourth lap and had to take my hat off. One little lad asked why I had no hair so I said I was poorly and had to have it shaved off but that I was okay now. He seemed contented with the response... phew! Last thing I wanted to do was traumatise the children! I have to say that I initially felt quite self conscious without my hat on. It's weird, I thought I might offend someone somehow. Crazy really, it's only a bald head for goodness sake!

Also, was able to do nursery run in week three of my last cycle. I took the buggy or walked Harry to nursery and it was so lovely! Encouraging Harry to get excited about running through the autumn leaves, seeing him love it and want to do it each day... well, no words.

Think I'll leaf it there ;)

X

 

Here are the web addresses for The Lewis Foundation and From Me to You:

The Lewis Foundation

www.thelewisfoundation.co.uk

From Me to You

www.frommetoyouletters.co.uk


bottom of page