top of page

Chemo... Romeo Done!

That's it.. last chemo, DONE! Well hopefully the last anyway, I don't fancy doing that again in a hurry (!)

Didn't think it was gonna happen at one point either... The hospital called on Thursday morning to say that the blood test I had on Wednesday showed low neutrophils (the infection fighting white blood cells); my neutrophil level was at 1 and needed to be 1.5 or above to proceed with chemo. Damn you, pesky neutrophils!! I would have to go in on Friday morning for a re-test to see if my level had increased. If so, then I was told chemo could still go ahead that day.

So that was me, on a mission, on Google... 'foods that boost white blood cells'. I then attempted to make the most immune boosting dinner possible (the stuff in bold is apparently really good for your immune system): cannelloni stuffed with red pepper, aubergine, mushrooms, spinach and garlic (seasoned with turmeric and cumin), baked in a tomato sauce (involving more garlic) with mozerella (ok, so, mozerella defo wasn't on the list but I bluddy-luv-it), all served with COPIUS amounts of broccoli and I drunk COPIUS amounts of green tea with fresh lemon and ginger as well. On the Friday morning, I had a clementine with some yoghurt and even more green tea.

However, despite having put all the good stuff in me, I still wasn't holding out much hope for an improved reading. In blood terms, to go from a reading of 1 to 1.5 for neutrophils can be a bit of a jump. I actually half expected them to have dropped further. My more positive side imagined (or perhaps, fantasised) that they might go up to 1.9 but I didn't want to get my hopes up. After I'd had the re-test, I took a (very slow) wander around the hospital to their Costa. Hadn't had much breakfast so treated myself to a ham and emmental cheese croissant... that certainly wouldn't help my immune system but I thought, faaaaccck iiiiit! Bloods are done now, nothing more I can do. Did have another green tea though (double thumbs up, big smiles!!).

I casually made my way back over to the Oncology unit to get my results and sat reading a magazine while I waited. When the nurse (lovely Lorraine) came into the room and gave me the thumbs up I nearly fell off my chair in shock. As she directed me to a seat, I asked what my neutrophil level had come back as this time... it was at 3.5!!!!!!!! Gettt iiiiin neutrophils!!!!! Good old immune system still hanging on in there!!

So you see, that's why I felt the need to go into detail about what I had to eat, cos if you're on chemo and need to boost your immune system, you might want to give some of that food a go!

Another quick thing to mention while I'm kind of giving out advice... On chemo no. 5, I had a reaction to the drugs. My chest felt tight and I went really hot; it happened very quickly. I was given Piriton intravenously and a 20 minute break from the treatment. I was then able to carry on with treatment but on a slower infusion. I felt it was important to mention this to anyone having the same chemo as me (FEC-T) as the reaction itself could be quite alarming. It was only because another lady had told me that she'd had a reaction on her second dose of the T drug and had described the symptoms, that I knew I was having a reaction, otherwise I could have thought it was something worse. According to the oncology nurses, it is quite common to have a reaction on the second dose of the T drug. Worth knowing so as not to panic I reckon!

Anyway, going back to Friday... I couldn't quite believe it, I was actually going to be able to have my last chemo after all, before the new year which is what I had hoped for... unTIL...

DUN, DUN, DUUUUUUUNNN...! Cannula capers strikes again! My 'go to' nurse, Alison who always gets my blood and cannulates me, had three attempts but it just wasn't going in. She felt terrible, I felt terrible... I thought, that's it... it isn't going to happen...

BUT THEN............ enter Simba!! DA-DALA-DA-DA-DAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!!! (that was triumphant super hero da's)... Now, it was messy... but he got the cannula in!! Yay!!!! Simba, I am forever grateful to you, you glorious man!

So there we are! Thankfully the treatment went smoothly (no further reactions) and I finally got to RING THE BELL !!! :D

Pics from left to right: me and Matt, excited as I was having final flush of saline, me with THE BELL and then hugs from some of the wonderful Macmillan team; Simba, Lorraine and Angela.

Just need to get over this last cycle now and start to recover properly.. I know it will be baby steps..

Will see the doctor in January to discuss whether I need radiotherapy but I'm so relieved that my active treatment is nearly over. As relieved as I am though, I won't forget those people who I have met along the way that are still going through chemotherapy, or the amazing nurses in the oncology unit. I can't speak highly enough of them... to do what they do, day in, day out with such kindness and compassion. They are life's real superheroes.

Speaking of kindness and compassion, I must say a huge, albeit belated, thank you to The Lewis Foundation for my lovely Christmas hamper. There I was, a couple of weeks ago, snuggled on the couch with Harry watching 'It's a Wonderful Life' and who should knock at the door but Lorraine and Lee Lewis, founders of... you guessed it.. The Lewis Foundation! They arrived with big smiles and three lovely packages for me; a hamper filled with Christmas goodies (the bottle of Baileys was enjoyed I can tell you!), some fab hair products and cosmetic samples from one of their Wellbeing events and, last but not least, a bag containing some cheese, beetroot and salad cream chosen by my friend Stacy (who nominated me for the hamper) as these be the ingredients for the best sandwich ever and the foundation of our friendship. If you've not tried a cheese, beetroot and salad cream sandwich then why not go mental and give it a go in 2018!

When I am feeling better, I hope to repay some of the kindness that has been shown to me by volunteering with The Lewis Foundation particularly within the Oncology unit at Milton Keynes Hospital. Lorraine and Lee, I still got your card so I'll be in touch! Until then, I would just like to say that it was really lovely to meet you both; your positivity is inspiring.

Well readers, as it's nearly midnight on New Year's Eve, I think I shall leave it there...

Happy New Year all :)

Much love x


bottom of page